Civic Center Community Benefit District Announces Election Results

The Civic Center Community Benefit District (CCCBD) has announced the results of its first election for the board of directors. The corporation was formed in 2011 with an interim board of directors who agreed to serve until the election of a regular board of directors, which was to occur no later than June 30, 2012.

According to the bylaws of the Civic Center Community Benefit District (Article 5, Section 3: Criteria): The Board shall be structured to represent the various interests of the Civic Center area. The fifteen (15) Directors shall represent segments of the area as follows:

  • Ten (10) Directors representing Property Owners (no more than half can be publicly-owned)
  • Three (3) Directors representing Tenants
  • Two (2) Directors representing the Community/At-Large

Official ballots were mailed to the 203 property owners that are part of the district with a deadline to return ballots to the CCCBD office by Friday, April 27, 2012. As of the deadline, ballots were received by representatives of 52 parcels that represent 65 percent of the assessed properties in the District.

The new board members will be installed at the CCCBD’s General Membership meeting on June 28, 2012 at 2:00 pm. The directors elected will serve terms of either two or four years. At the first meeting, the directors will draw lots to determine their initial terms. At that time, the board will also elect the four officers of the board.

Civic Center Community Benefit District Board of Directors – 2012-2014

[wpcol_1half id=”” class=”” style=””] Property Owners, Privately-Owned:

1. Jerry Bernstein
Lighthouse for the Blind

2. Anthony Boas
San Francisco Honda

3. Sam Smith
San Francisco Conservatory of Music

4. Tim Vrabel
Emerald Fund

5. Bill Whitfield
Shorenstein Realty Services


1. Mary Conde
Another Planet Entertainment

2. Nan Keeton
San Francisco Symphony

3. Janan New
San Francisco Apartment Association

[/wpcol_1half] [wpcol_1half_end id=”” class=”” style=””] Property Owners, Publicly-Owned:

1. Dariush Kayhan
San Francisco Dept. of Public Works

2. Roberto Lombardi
San Francisco Public Library

3. James McCrea
State of California

4. Jennifer Norris
War Memorial & Performing Arts Center

5. John Updike
San Francisco Real Estate


1. James Haas
Neighborhood Advocate

2. Patricia Unterman
Hayes Street Grill

About the Civic Center Community Benefit District

The Civic Center Community Benefit District (CCCBD) is a special assessment district conceived and organized by a group of concerned Civic Center property owners, arts organizations, government entities, and other stakeholders.

The goal of the CCCBD is to improve coordination and communication around the management, image, safety, beautification and cleanliness of the greater Civic Center area for the benefit of patrons, residents, employees, merchants, property owners and other visitors within the district.

For more information, please contact:
Donald W. Savoie, Executive Director
Civic Center Community Benefit District
234 Van Ness Avenue, Suite 1
San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone: (415) 658-7979

Related Posts